Personnel issues

Joos Sutter elected Chairman of the Coop Board of Directors / Philipp Wyss is the new Chairman of the Executive Committee

At today’s constituting meeting, the newly-elected Board of Directors of the Coop Group Cooperative elected Joos Sutter as its Chairman and Doris Leuthard as its Vice-Chairwoman. On his election as Chairman of the Board of Directors, Joos Sutter is succeeded as Chairman of the Executive Committee by Philipp Wyss, who was formerly his deputy.

Owing to the pandemic, the re-election of members of the Board of Directors of the Coop Group Cooperative was conducted this week by written ballot. Delegates elected the Board of Directors for a term of office from 2021 to 2025. The new Board of Directors then elected Joos Sutter in succession to Hansueli Loosli, the incumbent Chairman of the Board since 2011, who will step down on 30 April 2021. He will remain at the helm of Transgourmet Holding AG until further notice.

Joos Sutter: "These last ten years as CEO have given me enormous pleasure. We have implemented countless projects, taken Coop another step forward each year, and added to our market shares. I now look forward to giving the Coop Group a strategic future orientation as part of the Board of Directors."

The new Coop Board of Directors
Doris Leuthard has been elected Vice-Chairwoman in succession to Irene Kaufmann, who is retiring after twenty years on the Coop Group Board of Directors. At the same time, Peter Eisenhut and Hans-Jürg Käser have stepped down on the grounds of age. The new members of the Board of Directors – in addition to Joos Sutter – are Michael Fuhrer, CFO of Hänseler AG, Grégoire Ribordy, CEO of ID Quantique SA, Karim Twerenbold, CEO and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Twerenbold Group, and employee representative Markus Beer, Head of the Coop Bakeries Specialist Unit.

The new Coop Executive Committee
From 1 May 2021, Philipp Wyss will be Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Coop Group Cooperative in succession to Joos Sutter. In recent years he was Deputy Chairman of the Executive Committee and Head of the Marketing / Purchasing Business Unit. His deputy will be Daniel Stucker, for many years Head of the Trading Business Unit. Philipp Wyss will be succeeded by Andrea Kramer, currently Head of Category Management / Purchasing, Basic Foods / Cleaning.

Philipp Wyss: "Together with the entire Coop team, I am ready to seize new opportunities and tackle challenges – continuing to give our customers what they want: high quality, wide product ranges and exciting innovations."

  • Hansueli Loosli
  • Joos Sutter
  • Philipp Wyss
  • Daniel Stucker
  • Andrea Kramer