Keine Kamera verfügbar. Bitte Zugriff auf Kamera erlauben und Applikation neu starten.
Only at the weekend: 20% off all wines* Show more

Vegetarian and vegan: what's the difference?

People who eat a vegetarian or vegan diet consciously avoid animal products. But what are the advantages of a meat-free diet? Is this even healthy? Or can it lead to deficiencies in certain nutrients? We'll give you interesting information and answer your FAQs about vegetarian and vegan diets.

A comparison of two meat-free diets

Vegetarians and vegans do not eat meat or fish. However, vegetarians generally eat products that come from living animals, such as milk, dairy products, eggs and honey.
A vegan diet, on the other hand, avoids all foods of animal origin. A vegan meal will not include meat, fish, milk, dairy products, eggs or honey. Often, a vegan lifestyle is not only about a person's diet – many also avoid clothing made from leather or animal wool, as well as cosmetics containing animal ingredients.
There are many reasons for choosing a plant-based diet. However, individual motivations for a vegetarian or vegan diet are different from person to person. Animal welfare is one of the most common concerns, but many people choose a meat-free diet for ethical, health, religious or ecological reasons.

Easier shopping thanks to clear product labelling

The European vegetarian logo consisting of a yellow circle with a green V in the middle, with a leaf growing from it
Coop wants to make it easier for consumers to purchase vegan and vegetarian foods. As such, all Coop own-label brand products are labelled accordingly: Foods in the Délicorn line are always labelled with the yellow European vegetarian logo (V-Label). Products in the Karma line, as well as other Coop products that are suitable for a vegetarian and/or vegan diet, are labelled with the black and white V-Label. This can be found as a pictogram on the front of the packaging.
A vegan product in the Karma line with a black and white V-Label
The V-Label is assigned to the following two categories:
  • Vegetarian V-Label: products that may still contain dairy, eggs or honey
  • Vegan V-Label: purely plant-based products with no animal ingredients
The respective V-Label guarantees that the product does not contain any ingredients or processing aids of animal origin (e.g. gelatine to clarify juice) in its manufacture. 

Nutrition newsletter

Get answers to common questions about nutrition, tips on healthy and sustainable eating and information on new products for special nutritional needs. You can also win prizes such as cookbooks, product packages or practical kitchen utensils