The name Dalmore - great meadowland - derives from the wide grass plains of the Black Isle, which lie opposite the distillery on the picturesque banks of the Cromarty Firth, 15 miles north of Inverness. The proximity to the River Alness and the lush vegetation were ideal for growing barley. Alexander Mathieson founded the Dalmore Distillery in 1839. In 1886, the distillery was bought by the Mackenzie family, whose clan crest is marked by the logo of the deer's head - a symbol that still adorns every bottle of Dalmore today. The right to use this crest was granted 700 years ago to the then clan leader, Colin of Kintail, after he saved King Alexander III of Scotland from a charging stag.